Cycling E-bike to China: The New Highways To Phnom Penh


Cambodia is modernising in a big way. As I understand it, it is getting investments from China. A few years ago it had started building highways connecting major cities. Today, much of the highway has been completed and I got a chance to cycle on it.

The highway constructions have made the roads very, very dusty. I saw lots of nice cars, all of them covered in thick layers of dust!

I cycled very long distances yesterday and today. You can read why in my previous blog post.

There are many animals along the highway. I have been mooing at cows, barking at dogs, honking at geese, quacking at ducks and clucking at chickens. I was at a loss at what sound to make when I met water buffaloes. So I just greeted them with a hearty, “Hello!”

I stopped for a drink at a roadside stall today. It had some hammocks for customers to use. The hammocks were what attracted me to it. While resting, I heard the woman’s handphone play an Islamic prayer. It turns out she was a Muslim.

I asked her if she had problems being a Muslim in Cambodia which is a Buddhist country. She said, no.

I also lowered my seat by one and a half inches. It seems to alleviate my backside pain a little bit. However, a lower seat means less efficiency cycling. Thank goodness I have an e-bike!

I had to cycle after the sun had set because of the very long distance I had to cover today. On the flip side, I saw a most spectacular sunset! You can see it in my video. Gopeppergo on YouTube.

Cycling at night is always dangerous because, often, there are no street lamps.

I am still looking for Slime puncture resistance liquid. I contacted a few bicycle shops in Phnom Penh but no one seems to have it. If I can’t find it in Phnom Penh, I’m not going to find it anywhere in Cambodia.

I am a hundred kilometres from the capital city. If I start cycling at 11:00, I should reach before sunset.

I am Pepper Lim. I am cycling to China to raise money for the OKU. They want training for better jobs, wheelchairs, seed to start an enterprise, medical. Please donate generously.

The Lions Club of Tropicana Petaling
Public Bank: 3231267936

Support me with RM100.00
Pepper Lim
Maybank 114124095576

Please help to share my journey with your friends.
Blog: https://iampepperlim.wordpress.com/
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/@gopeppergo7318

Leave a comment