Cycling E-bike to China: Leaving Pakse Towards Vientienne


This morning, the first food stall I saw, I stopped for breakfast. I ordered noodles with pork. I was quite hungry because last night I only had a packet of chips for dinner. Next, I saw a coffee stall and ordered my usual iced coffee.

According to the map, there was a hotel 96 km away. The road had gentle hills but a strong headwind. It was so strong, I had to even cycle downhill!

Animals would simply stand in the middle of the highway and only moved when a vehicle was approaching it. Once, I saw a group of cows crossing the road while a speeding lorry was heading towards them. Despite the vehicle honking at them, they just stood there and the vehicle had to avoid them instead.

At lunchtime, I could not find a food stall. I saw a grocery shop and prepared to eat junk food for my lunch. I asked the shopkeeper where I could eat lunch and he pointed further down the road. So I cycled on and found the small food stall. It only had sticks of Lao sausages. I ate that with sticky rice.

The owners of the stall must have been in a new year mood. They were barbecuing chicken and drinking beer. About fifteen minutes later, everyone took turns taking a photo with me! Well, who can resist a man in tight leggings?

About 10 km from my destination, I saw a nice hotel that had a restaurant opposite it. My intended hotel did not even have a flush for the toilet so I decided to stop at this hotel instead. This hotel was not listed on the map. Many hotels in Laos are not listed on the map.

Since it was new year’s eve, I had a beer to celebrate by myself.

I am Pepper Lim. I am cycling to China to raise money for the OKU. They want training for better jobs, wheelchairs, seed to start an enterprise, medical. Please donate generously.

The Lions Club of Tropicana Petaling
Public Bank: 3231267936

Support me with RM100.00
Pepper Lim
Maybank 114124095576

Please help to share my journey with your friends.
Blog: https://iampepperlim.wordpress.com/
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/@gopeppergo7318

Leave a comment