Cycling E-bike to China: The Magic of Routine and Discipline


Cycling alone has its ups and downs. While I enjoy the solitude and the freedom to decide everything for myself, it is also attached to relying on myself solely in times of trouble.

During the 3800km journey, I could have fallen sick or met with an accident or injured myself. Luckily, none of that happened to me. I could have given up halfway but I didn’t. I was disciplined, very disciplined every day.

I knew I had to set myself a routine. Routines may sound boring but for this journey, it was a cornerstone to my success.

Every day was the same: wake up, pack up, load the bicycle, cycle, stop for lunch, cycle, stop for afternoon tea, look for a hotel, cycle to the hotel, check-in, unload the bicycle, eat my dinner, write my daily report and sleep by 9 o’clock.

Once I get into the hotel room, I charge everything that needs charging – handphone, GPS phone, cameras, e-bike batteries. Dirty clothes are washed and hung to dry in front of the aircon’s blower, shower, put on fresh clothes, and go out to find dinner. The empty bags and placed at the foot of the bed. Shoes go next to the door; I walk barefoot in the room as a typical Malaysian.

Meals are hot cooked food. In Vietnam, I ate pho almost every day because it is hot and soupy. I know what I will get when I order it. The soup will also rehydrate me.

On the way back to the hotel, I stop by the shop to buy two big bottles of water and maybe a bun for breakfast.

In the hotel room, I type out my daily report and share it on social media. I check the route I have to take on the GPS map and familiarise myself with it. I do not just rely on the GPS but the roadsigns too. Then, lights out at nine.

I do not set the alarm as I am able to wake up automatically around five in the morning. Usually, my mornings are spent making videos or checking the weather forecast and the day’s route again.

Once I am out of bed, I put on my cycling clothes and pack up. Every item goes back into its own bag. If I take it out of Bag A, it goes back into Bag A. I have ziplock bags for different groups of things – electronics, clothes, personal items, e-bike chargers and multi-plug, and washing detergent.

Then, I load the bicycle. Each pannier houses the same things every morning. I do not mix any of my items nor do I mix my bags. I know where everything is.

My important documents and wallet is always in my small backpack, placed in the same pockets every time.

It takes discipline to follow the same routine daily but routine makes a structure me to follow. It is like a timetable that tells you what to do at what time. It provides a sense of stability. I know what comes next after each routine.

I am Pepper Lim. I completed 3800 km cycling to China to raise money for the OKU on 13.1.23. They want training for better jobs, wheelchairs, seed to start an enterprise, medical. Please donate generously.

The Lions Club of Tropicana Petaling
Public Bank: 3231267936

Please help to share my journey with your friends.
Blog: https://iampepperlim.wordpress.com/
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/@gopeppergo7318

Leave a comment