Just English After 21 Years: Letter to Writers, Coordinator and Illustrator


Dear fellow writers, coordinator and illustrator,

The owners of Just English have decided to close the magazine at the end of this year. I kind of saw the writing on the wall years ago but hoped that this day would not come. I had hoped the business would turn around so I can carry on writing and making the magazine for at least another ten years.

I started with the magazine just like you – as a part-time writer. When they cut back on their full-time staff, I was asked to be the Chief Editor. Around that time, they hired a new magazine coordinator (June Low) and a new illustrator cum designer (Willwin Yang) too. The three of us worked on the magazine that you see today. June and Willwin redesigned it and I beefed up the articles. Yes, only two people (June and Willwin) produced all the issues, from deciding on the articles, the design, colour scheme, illustrations, fun activities, side snippets etc.! Even so, every readers’ survey showed that our readers liked the new issues.

I would like to acknowledge all your contributions to the magazine. I know the magazine did not pay well as it was barely keeping afloat. Still, none of you complained. You simply considered the income as a supplement or used it as a writing outlet for your creativity. I was especially grateful that during COVID-19, the magazine gave us an income while people lost their jobs.

When I took over as Chief Editor, I did not get paid for the position but I understood why, knowing the state the magazine was in. Despite that, when I asked for bonuses and an annual dinner for the writers, the bosses said yes. Do you remember the lucky draws we had every two years? Maybe the photo below will jog your memory.

For me, I will remember the good times we had. I was always astounded by many of your submissions that pushed the boundaries to keep the magazine fresh, informative and relevant.

Gosh! This email has taken me two days to write. I feel extremely sad but when I look back at our time together, I am happy our paths crossed.

I wish you all the best in life.

Leave a comment