BBBS: Palestine Solidarity Week, Support or Resist?


A few days ago, what we all thought was a rumour, turned out to be true. Malaysia’s Ministry of Education has called for Palestine Solidarity Week. Now, what would my old school do? Support or resist?

As chairman of the Old Boys, I automatically have a seat on the Bukit Bintang Boys’ School board of governors. The board was naturally cautious and concerned about Palestine Solidarity Week.

I proposed that the school be neutral despite it being a Christian mission school. Thankfully, the board agreed and the pengetua added that the school would be above politics, religion and race.

Last night, an old boy from the 1975 batch, told me about how Malaysia was muhibbah during his teenage years. I told him, if we all worked towards that, our country will be muhibbah.

https://www.malaysiakini.com/news/684564

Leave a comment