Poem: I’m A Man, My Duty Calls


I’m weary but the journey’s still so far,
My path’s unknown, beneath evening’s star.
Fatigue weighs heavy, I’m tired, unclear,
Yet onward I press, in the night so sheer.

I feel the chill, fear wraps round my core,
Yet brave I must stand, feelings I ignore.
A man I must be, though inside I falter,
Concealing the dark fears like a stoic alter.

As a man I stand, unseeable foes to face,
Dragons veiled in shadows, in a terrible place.
Against the unseen, my battles begin,
I must conquer these dragons, I have to win.

In the dark unknown, my struggles unfold,
Battle after battle, but my tales are untold.
Heaven gazes on, my fate in the balance tense,
For if I falter, the consequences are immense.

As a man I stand, summoned by duty’s call,
I confront the tasks, embrace them all.
In my hands alone is what must be done,
No other man shall hear my duty’s calling drum.

Leave a comment