Cycling E-bike to China: Crossed Over To Laos, Good-bye Cambodia


The past few days were spent cycling to the Laos border. I noticed that there were not many vehicles on the highway to the border. I guess it must be an unpopular border for people to cross into Laos.

They were very few hotels on the highway. Each hotel was about 8 to 10 hours ride away. Every day, I have to complete my journey or risk sleeping by the roadside!

Last night, I stayed at a hotel by the highway. Even though it was the main road to the Laos border, it was almost empty!

The road to the Laos border was very bad. It was mostly gravel. It badly needs repairing. When vehicles passed me or when there was wind blowing, I would breathe in the dust that was kicked up. Every night, I wash my clothes and the water looks like light Milo!

I saw some rural kids. They shouted, “Hello! Hello!” to me and I stopped. Children don’t normally approach me but this group did. I gave them a toothbrush each that I had collected from the various hotels that I have been staying in.

The road to the border was mostly empty but when I saw a food stall I decided to have one last Cambodian meal before Laos. I ate a bowl of soupy noodles with grilled beef.

Crossing the border was easy. I was the only one stamping my passport at the Cambodian side. At the Laos side, there were two or three foreigners. I was asked to pay US$2. I know it is for the border guards but I paid it anyway because I know they earn very little.

A young lady approached me to sell me a SIM card for my phone. She also operated a snacks stall. I don’t know how she survives because there were so few travellers passing through that checkpoint. To help her I bought an ice cream. I saw a group of guards looking at me and I offered to buy them ice cream too. The young lady was very happy. She made more than RM50 from me!

Oh, I also saw a deer at the back of my hotel.

I am Pepper Lim. I am cycling to China to raise money for the OKU. They want training for better jobs, wheelchairs, seed to start an enterprise, medical. Please donate generously.

The Lions Club of Tropicana Petaling
Public Bank: 3231267936

Support me with RM100.00
Pepper Lim
Maybank 114124095576

Please help to share my journey with your friends.
Blog: https://iampepperlim.wordpress.com/
Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/@gopeppergo7318

Leave a comment