Dear Paprika: Just Because Others Are Easily Triggered Doesn’t Mean You Have to Be Too


Dear Paprika,

Being triggered means having a negative emotional reaction to something, e.g. something offensive.

Nowadays, people seem to be triggered by almost anything. I have even seen videos online that carry warnings, “Trigger Warning!” to prepare the audience for ‘offensive’ content. I put the word ‘offensive’ in inverted commas because it is subjective. Remember the saying, one man’s meat is another man’s poison? It means, what you like may offend someone else. And, conversely, what you dislike may delight someone else.

If you find something offensive, that is okay. You have a right to be offended. However, you do not need to rave and rant about it. Control your own emotions. I dislike durians; I can’t even stand the smell. You could say I am offended by it. If you brought during into my house, I would tell you off. However, when people eat durian in front of me, I do not fly into a rage and tell them how offensive the smell is to me, and prevent them from eating it.

Nowadays, you cannot talk about race or LGBT. People find it offensive. You cannot talk about the Israel-Hamas war – people find it offensive if you say negative things about Hamas or the Palestinians no matter how true they are. You cannot talk about liquor to a Hindu observing Thaipussam – they find it offensive. You cannot bring up the subject of pronouns – some people get offended by using ‘they’ as a personal pronoun. Some Muslim friends will not be seen in your house because it is offensive to other muslims since you eat pork in your house.

You cannot tell dirty jokes because it is offensive. People actually pay to attend a comedy show and then heckle the comedian making jokes. Goodness! If I find a comedian offensive, I wouldn’t waste good money on him. I don’t find Jimmy Carr funny. His act includes him being a snob and I find it a turn off but I don’t go around trying to cancel him.

Or, how about that Chinese Australian chef who got offended when someone greeted her with ‘ni how mah?’ That one really took first prize in my book. Imagine that! She got offended because someone tried to greet her in Chinese.

This is offensive, that is offensive. You might as well take everything off the table so you do not offend anyone. How in the world do we solve problems if we can’t talk about them then? Only weak people avoid confrontations. Only weak people cannot stand the heat. Only weak people avoid uncomfortable situations. And they hide behind the mask of “it’s offensive”. And make you feel bad for trying to understand or talk about their “offensive thing”.

Dear Paprika, our family is made of tough stuff. Problems are meant for solving. Weaknesses are meant for strengthening. Uncomfortable situations are meant for making right and corrected. Do not avoid difficult problems by labeling them offensive and therefore sweep them under the carpet. My teacher used to tell us, “Get rid of the skeletons in your closet and clean it up!” I think that is good advice.

Your loving father,
Daddy

Leave a comment