BBBS: I Chose To Attend BBBS Because of A Special Teacher


I attended the Pasar Road English School II (SRK Jalan Pasar II) for my primary school education. After my Standard 6, the government assigned me to SMK Aminuddin Baki, near Pudu, together with all my classmates.

BBBS Visit 2015
Visiting BBBS in 2015, 30 years after I left school.

But by then, my family had bought a house closer to PJ and moved out of Cheras. So, my family asked for me to be transferred to another school near my new home. However, school transfers took time and were not always successful.

My mother had an uncle who was a Tan Sri and he offered to help. He boasted that he could get my transfer application approved. And I could choose any secondary school I wanted.

The top boys’ school was Victoria’s Institution. Even though my grades were only average, the school was mine to attend if I so choose said my Tan Sri uncle.

Then, I met my old family friend, Mrs Jackie Toh. She was a teacher at BBBS and she lived just a few streets away from my new home. She casually asked me which new secondary school I was attending and I told her I was in the process of transferring to VI.

“No! Come to BBBS! It is a good school!” Mrs Toh told me, and proceeded to tell me what a wonderful secondary school it was.

Then, she told my family, “I can fetch him to school and home again!”

And that sealed the deal for my family and me. So, in 1981, I started Form 1 in Bukit Bintang Boys’ School.

Leave a comment